Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

School Board Meeting Time and Place

Canyon ISD Board Regular Meetings will generally take place the second Monday of the month.  The meetings are held in the Board Room of the CISD Administration Building, 3301 N 23rd St, Canyon.  Regular Meetings begin at 7 p.m. with Board Recognitions and other Special Meetings that are open to the public.  The Board Regular Business Meetings begin at 7 p.m. Special Meetings are scheduled on an as-needed basis.

In accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, the Board has the privilege to meet privately in closed session to discuss matters related to personnel, student discipline, security, land acquisition or to consult with legal counsel.  No action, however, may be taken during a closed session. 


May 10

June 21

July 12

Aug 9

Sept 13

Oct 18

Nov 8

Dec 13


Jan 10

Feb 14

Mar – To be determined due to Spring Break 

Apr 11

May 9

June 13

Public Comments at Board Meetings


School Board Member Responsibilities

With the children foremost in their minds, the Board of Trustees’ primary task is to establish district policy. These individuals are elected by you for four-year terms for which they receive no compensation. Prior to each meeting, trustees receive background materials on agenda items. By studying this information, they are prepared to ask pertinent questions and cast informed votes. A school board is a governmental body, so it can take action only by a majority vote. They are responsible for approving personnel actions, expenditures, property acquisitions and sales, school elections, and legal transactions. Their authority encompasses construction and maintenance authorizations, budget approval, bond elections and sales, tax rates, and the taking of bids on materials, equipment, property, insurance and other items.



Bill Jenkins

Financial Advisor – Jenkins Wealth Management, LLC.

President – Elected May 2015 – Term expires in May 2025

BBA Accounting from Abilene Christian University
Certified Public Accountant
Past Chairman of the Board for Amarillo Chamber of Commerce

Family includes wife, Gina, a 1988 graduate of Canyon High School and a daughter and son who currently attend CISD schools. Bill serves because, “I love our community, I love our schools, and more importantly…I love our kids. A good education is the foundation of a bright future, and I’m excited to be involved in such a role to make a difference in the future of our youth.”

Bill Jenkins



Jennifer Winegarner

Vice President of Operations – Triangle National LLC

Vice President – Appointed January 2019 – Term expires in May 2025

BA – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Family Includes husband, Josh, and two children attending Reeves-Hinger Elementary School.  Jenni serves because good schools are the cornerstone of strong communities. She’s committed to finding ways to give back and enrich our community and to continue to provide our students with every possible opportunity to grow and to succeed.

Jennifer Winegarner



Matt Parker

Vice President of Cardiovascular Services at BSA Hospital

Secretary -Appointed  July 2020 – Term expires in May 2025

BS in Education from Baylor University
BS in Physical Therapy from Southwest Texas State University
MBA in General Business from Amberton University.

Family includes his wife, Valerie, and two daughters. One daughter is a Canyon ISD graduate and another daughter attends Canyon ISD. Matt serves because he wants to give to the community and he believes a strong education opens doors of opportunity for students.

Matt Parker



Randy Darnell


Assistant Secretary – Appointed March 2005 – Term expires in May 2025

BS from Texas Tech University

Randy’s wife is a 1979 graduate of Canyon High. His son is a 2005 Randall High School graduate, his daughters are 2007 and 2014 graduates of RHS. Randy serves because, “I feel a duty of responsibility to give back to the community, and I want people to know how dedicated CISD employees are to their jobs.”

Randy Darnell



Claudia Burkett

Executive Vice President, Canyon Market President – Education Credit Union

Member – Appointed October 2021 – Term expires in May 2022

Credit Union Management – University of North Texas
2013 Canyon Chamber Woman of the Year and Volunteer of the Year
2013 Recipient of the Yellow Rose of Texas Award by Governor Rick Perry

Family includes her husband, Mark, three adult children Cori, Carli, and Mark II, and three grandsons who attend Canyon ISD schools.  As a 25 year resident and supporter of Canyon ISD, Claudia believes public schools are the foundation of the community and desires to serve her community.

Bruce Cobb



Linda Hinders

Member – Appointed August 2006 – Term expires in May 2023

BS Degree from West Texas A & M University
Former president of the board for Canyon Crisis Pregnancy Center
Former president of the Canyon Library Board

Family Includes husband, Gary and three children, Amanda, Matthew and Marshall. All are CISD graduates. Linda serves because, “I wanted to give something back to the community that has given so much to me and my family. I am proud to be associated with one of the finest school districts in the state of Texas.”

Linda Hinders



Katharyn Wiegand

Mary E. Bivins Foundation

Member – Elected May 2011 – Term expires in May 2023

BBA in Marketing from Texas Tech University
MBA in General Business from West Texas A&M University

Family includes a husband, a son attending Canyon ISD and a son in college. Katharyn serves on the board because she feels her family is blessed to live in an outstanding school district. “It is our duty to help ensure that the district continues to serve students and families in the best possible manner.”

Katharyn Wiegand